• Blue mountains
  • Blue mountains
  • Tree sisters

Blue Mountains

The name Blue Mountains comes from the blue haze that the eucalyptus trees are producing. The Blue Mountains national park is part of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area and is one of the eight national parks and reserves in the Hertitage area:

  • Blue Mountains National Park
  • Wollemi National Park
  • Kanangra-Boyd National Park
  • Yengo National Park
  • Gardens of Stone National Park
  • Nattai National Park
  • Thirlmere Lakes National Park
  • Jenolan Karst Conservation Reserve

Katoomba and The Three Sisters
You can find charming little villages in these mountains, the most famous is Katoomba. In this village you will find the Tree Sisters and you can also make one of the steepest train rides in the world. Katoomba is also one of the most visited places so come early so that you don’t get irritated with buses and big groups of tourists.

The best way is make your pictures early in the morning, and than go to the visitors center to get a map of the area. Than choose one of the beautiful walking trails. Be sure to ask which trail is open because sometimes trails get closed for maintenance or fire hazards.

Jenolan Caves
A trip to the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area is not complete without a visit to to Jenolan Caves. The Aboriginals knew the cave for thousand of years and call it Binoomea, which can be translated in “Dark places”. Today there are several tours to choose from and even self-guided!


Map of Blue Mountains

Location: New South Wales
Highest point: Mount Werong 1,215 m

Offical website
Mountains drive
Jenolan Caves